

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

Stephen O. Dean, President Fusion Power Associates

Fusion Power Associates Annual Meeting and Symposium December 19-20, 2023

DISTINGUISHED CAREER AWARDS

Fusion Power Associates Distinguished Career Awards were established in 1987 to recognize individuals who have made distinguished lifelong career contributions to fusion development

The 2023 Awards are presented to

Gerald Navratil

and

Tony Taylor



DISTINGUISHED CAREER AWARD

In selecting Dr. Navratil, the FPA Board of Directors recognizes his contributions to plasma science and fusion energy, as well as to the education of a new generation of scientists, for his service on a host of national advisory committees, such as the U.S. **ITER Project Technical Advisory Committee and** the DOE Fusion Energy Sciences Advisory Committee, for his editorial service to journals such as Physics of Fluids and Physics of Plasmas, and for his role in the establishment of the University Fusion Association, and lengthy service on Fusion Power Associates Board of **Directors, including 2 terms as Board Chair.**



DISTINGUISHED CAREER AWARD

In selecting Dr. Taylor, the FPA Board of Directors recognizes the major contributions he has made to the world fusion program, including experiments that validated tokamak beta stability limits, demonstrating extremely high beta operation of a tokamak, and for leading the way in the development of potential steady-state Advanced Tokamaks, which increases the prospects for a U.S. fusion Pilot Plant. He is also recognized for being instrumental in increasing national and international collaborations that enabled many important contributions to the final design of ITER, as well as the development of strong tokamak fusion programs in Japan, Korea and China.

2023 LEADERSHIP AWARDS

- Fusion Power Associates Leadership Awards were established in 1980 to recognize individuals who have provided outstanding leadership in accelerating the development of fusion power.
- 2023 Leadership Awards are presented to Dr. Johan Frenje of MIT and to Dr. Mickey Wade of Oak Ridge National Laborator.



In selecting Dr. Frenje the Board recognizes the leadership he is providing to the quest for fusion power, including the key role he played in providing critical diagnostics for the recent NIF ignition experiments and his contributions to the development of many key diagnostics and analyses for ICF/HEDP experiments over the years. He is also recognized for his sustained mentoring of younger colleagues and Ph.D. students who will sustain fusion development for many years to come.



In selecting Dr. Wade, the FPA Board of **Directors recognizes his long history of positive** and significant impact on the development of fusion energy, especially the outstanding record of accomplishments by the DIII-D program during his four years as director and notes that, since his arrival at ORNL, he has strengthened ORNL's role in the national fusion program and positioned ORNL to become a leading center for fusion energy development and deployment in the future.



2023 EXCELLENCE IN FUSION ENGINEERING AWARD

Fusion Power Associates Excellence in Fusion Engineering Awards,

in memory of MIT Professor David J. Rose,

were established in 1987 to recognize persons in the relatively early part of their careers who have shown both technical accomplishment and potential to become exceptionally influential leaders in the fusion field.



2023 Excellence in Fusion Engineering Award is presented to Dr. Stephanie Diem of the University of Wisconsin



In selecting Dr. Diem, the Fusion Power Associates Board of Directors recognizes the breadth of her scientific contributions including, but not limited to, her work on RF wave heating and current drive, addressing the important issue of the potential of nonsolenoid startup of spherical torus fusion devices, and for her extensive participation and leadership in many community policy and planning activities including, but not limited to, the Early Career Fusion Scientists group, the leadership she is providing to many graduate students at the University of Wisconsin, and to the important Pegasus-III project.



2023 SPECIAL AWARD

FPA Special Awards have been presented periodically since 1980 to persons who have made special contributions to the cause of fusion power development.

A 2023 Special Award is presented to

Francis Thio



Francis Thio is recognized for his seminal role in encouraging ARPA-E to initiate efforts in fusion energy research and development and for his long service as a **Department of Energy Fusion Energy Sciences Program Manager for Innovative Confinement Concepts, Exploratory Plasma Research and High Energy Density** Laboratory Plasmas.

